Legal Toolkit Florida Workers Compensation

What to Expect About Workers Compensation


Worker’s Compensation attorneys work on "Contingency", meaning that, in exchange for the work they do to help you secure compensation or disability, they will ask for a percentage of whatever your monetary award is from the case.  The percentage is dictated by the legislature in the State of Florida and depends on the date of your injury.  For all accidents occurring after January 1, 1994 the percentage is 20% of the first $5,000.00 of all benefits secured;  15% of the next $5,000.00 of all benefits secured and 10% of benefits secured.


Attorneys charge for expenses incurred on behalf of clients. Worker’s compensation attorneys don’t typically pass on office expenses like telephone charges but they will definitely pass on costs related to court filing fees, the cost of court reporters, expert witness fees, medical report fees, and other significant expenses associated with handling your case.


Attorneys are required to provide clients with a written fee agreement. Fee agreements help to clarify what you will be charged for, when you are expected to pay your invoices (routinely at the time of settlement of your claim), and what you should do if you have a concern about fees.